Tom’s neverending virus…

LANGUAGE IS A VIRUS

 

HEY! So along with a fair few of you, i’ve been struggling to really get to the meaty section of my investigation. Here is a couple of artists that i keep looking at:

 

The one that REALLY took me was Todd Mclellan’s deconstruction of a typewriter. For some odd reason I thought that image summed up exactly what my quote said…

 

Not only was this image technical, scientific, analytical, THE SUM OF ITS PARTS, but it was really a cynical explanation of a loved object – the typewriter in particular creating language and emotional expressions. Who knows what has been written on that typewritter, yet there it is – spread onto a table for all to see, all flaws and secrets.

 

So from there I arrived at the fact that what I am interested in is deconstruction (As the Sam Winston Examples also show). Its like the english teacher that deconstructs an amazingly beautiful piece of language into its parts. It is an overly cynical view… as Alan Fletcher states: the person you love is 72.8% water.

 

So I am bringing this back to the library – and looking into ways I can deconstruct the library (both on macro and micro levels).

 

Lame ideas:

Laying out a book page after page after page, as opposed to a book form

Writing all emotional states/events of shakespeare on its cover (sort of like explaining the main themes of a book before you read it).

Painting things white seems to be slightly appealing… sterility…

Physical properties of the book on its cover: Weight, pages, how many images, fonts used, word count…

Would love to get off the book theme and explore objects…

 

Anyway PLEASE PLEASE let me know if this sounds ok/or if you have any advice/ideas that this may have spurred on.

See you guys wednesday! 🙂

 

Tom

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Tom’s neverending virus…”
  1. visresearch says:

    Sounds great tom! I think you are focusing also in a practice best suited to you.

    So your not going to be destructing books but breaking down the language contained inside of them?

  2. visresearch says:

    love giv. now help me.

Leave a comment